Jersey Goes West Pt. 1 – Welcome to Vegas!

Wow!  It has been since March since I last made a post.  Well, I am going to change that.  My husband and I just returned from a whirlwind trip out west.  We had a blast!  During our visit to Nevada and California, we made it to 3 National Parks, 1 national forest (2 if you count that Yosemite is within the Sierra National Forest), 1 State Park, 2 national monuments/sites, 1 national wildlife refuge and 2 ghost towns. We also made it to the Pacific ocean and threw in a visit to Disneyland for good measure. I may be forgetting something in that list.  We were definitely able to check some sites off our bucket list although many we hope to revisit someday.  I am going to write about our travels weekly and show you the sites that we were able to visit.  Hopefully I will be able to do a post or two a week as I wade through my 2000+ images I took.

I am a bit lacking for pictures for the first part of the trip.  We left Philadelphia early on a Sunday morning.  We had an uneventful direct flight to Las Vegas via Southwest.  We picked up our car rental for the next 11 days.

Welcome to Las Vegas!

It was early in the day ( in Vegas) but we were getting hungry.  It was too early to check into our room at the Luxor, so we parked in the lot and walked over to New York, New York and had lunch at the Irish Pub.

After lunch, we took a ride to see Count’s Kustoms showroom, home to the show Counting Cars.  The showroom is a little small but there is no admission fee and it is only a few minutes off the strip.  It was worth a quick trip over too see some of the cars that they made over on the show.  They allow you to take all the photos you want but no video.  Photo credit for the following photos goes to Daniel Adams.  I didn’t bring my camera into the showroom.

Count's KustomsCount's Kustoms BannerCount's Kustoms Mustang GT350Count's Kustom Lamborghini Countach

By the time we finished at CK, it was time to go back to the hotel for check-in and a much needed nap!  Later in the evening, we took a walk on the strip to check out some of the sites.  We didn’t spend too much time in Vegas this trip so I don’t have too many pictures there.

A few quick images from the evening…

Las Vegas-2

Las Vegas-4

Las Vegas-5

Las Vegas-6

Las Vegas-1

We had an early morning ahead of us so we called it a night pretty early.  Stay tuned for my next – Valley of Fire State Park.

Leave a Reply

