Summer in the City!

Ocean City that is!  The best part of summer is going to down the shore, sitting on the beach and feeling the cool sand between my toes.  Unfortunately, it seems that life gets busier and busier and my summer trips to the shore are few and far between.

A couple weekends ago, my husband and I decided to get an early start and head to the beach.  Normally on the weekend, we take care of the critters between 5:30 and 6 am and then head back to bed for a couple hours.  I wanted to hit the boardwalk early to get some photos without the hoards of people that hit the boards later in the afternoon.

The air was warm but the water was chilly, so we found a nice spot on a Surfing Only beach.  We figured the crowds would keep to the bathing beaches.

Surfing Only

 

I left Dan on the beach to relax and I hit the boards for some photos. I was totally not prepared for the crazy amount of bicycle riders that also occupy the boards at that time of day. You really take your life in your hands when trying to get from one side of the boardwalk to the other. A lot of people were more interested in looking at the shops than straight ahead of them and there were several close calls as I tried to dodge the bikers to get to the pedestrian lane!

Apparently, I have to be even earlier in the summer or go in the off-season as the boardwalk was already busy. Enjoy a few of my images from the day!

Gillians

Ocean City Music Pier

Hibiscus by the Pier

Anyone familar with Ocean City knows Johnson's Caramel Popcorn!
Anyone familar with Ocean City knows Johnson’s Caramel Popcorn!

I highly recommend Haunted Golf for anyone who likes miniature golf! This place was great with awesome effects. It is not too scary but reminded me of the Haunted Mansion at Disney World. It was well worth the slightly more expensive price.

Haunted Golf

Golden Galleon

Fralingers

Shrivers

Bird Kite

4 thoughts on “Summer in the City!”

  1. The bikes are crazy. For no people, I suggest February. I got some great snow shots of the boardwalk that way one time. Also, lines for pizza are shorter then.

    My favorite part of OC is the 10 cent skeeball.

    1. Haha! If you can find an open pizza place! The only thing I hate about going in the winter is the brutal wind coming off the ocean. I took some photos in Asbury Park this past winter that were pretty nice. I am thinking Sept or Oct after school is back in session…or maybe I will suck it up and deal with the cold!

Leave a Reply

